Local Legal News 
Wayne State Awards Honorary Membership 4/6/18  04/10/18 10:24:23 AM Printer Friendly VersionPrinter Friendly Version

Photo by Angie Steffen
Judge Robert Ensz and his wife Deb Ensz were awarded as special guests and honorary members of Sigma Beta Delta at Wayne State College.   Dr. Vaughn Benson of Wayne State College (center) congratulates the couple upon earning their honorary membership to Sigma Beta Delta on March 18.
Wayne State Awards Honorary Membership
Judge Ensz was awarded 2017 Citizen of the Year in Wayne. Ensz is a husband, father and grandfather. He is a retired attorney. He graduated from Beatrice High School, the University of Nebraska and the University of Nebraska College of Law. He served in the United States Army during the Vietnam War. He is a member of the Wayne Consolidated Veterans Group, member of the Honor Guard for military honors at Veterans’ funerals. He plays “Taps.’’ He worked as a lawyer in the Nebraska Attorney General’s office. He is a former Wayne State College adjunct instructor, former Wayne County Attorney and former District Court Judge of Nebraska’s 7th Judicial District. He helped establish the Northeast Nebraska Adult Drug Court and served as a former Northeast Nebraska Adult Drug Court Judge. He is a former member and President of the Nebraska District Judges Association. He is a former member and chairman of the Nebraska Supreme Court Judicial Ethics Committee, a member of the Madison County 7th Judicial District Bar Association and member of the Nebraska State Bar Association. He assists in the First United Methodist Church Mobile Food Pantry by delivering boxes of food to those who cannot make it to Church. He assists and coaches the Wayne High and Wayne State College mock trial teams. He is a former presenter at the Nebraska “Through the Eyes of the Child Initiative’’ Regional Conference, volunteer and speaker with Wayne State College’s Rural Law Opportunities Program, volunteer Judge/Assistant with Wayne State College’s Criminal Justice Program. He is a member of Wayne’s Rotary chapter including serving as 2016-2017 President of Wayne Rotary, serving as a member of the Wayne Rotary New Generations Committee, has been recognized by the Rotary Foundation and assisted with many rotary programs including Rotaract, Area Elementary Dictionary Project, Jr. High Cross Country Meet, Aqua-Africa Run, School Bike Rack Project, Senior Center meals, parades and the Super Bowl Food Drive. He is a Wayne Teammates Board member and a Wayne State College Foundation Trustee.
Deb Wightman Ensz graduated with an English degree from the University of Nebraska, earned a federal fellowship to work on her master’s degree in secondary education. She worked as a playground supervisor for Lincoln Parks and Recreation, in addition to taking classes at the University of Nebraska. She taught two junior high English classes at Millard Lefler Junior High School, Lincoln, while obtaining her master’s degree. She worked on the committee to revise the student teacher program (NUSTEP) for the University of Nebraska. She taught English at East High School, Lincoln. Her primary teaching assignment was ninth grade and a general literature class offered to juniors and seniors. She coached girls’ swimming and tennis at East High School. She taught summer school, both junior and senior high English classes. She worked as a part-time administrative assistant to Jim O’Hanlon who was the chairman of the Postsecondary Education Coordinating Council. She worked for Selection Research, Inc. and helped with primarily school-related projects including teacher selection process and school climate surveys.
The mission of Sigma Beta Delta is to encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among students of business, management and administration, and to encourage and promote aspirations toward personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind. Sigma Beta Delta was established to honor students who have attained superior records in business programs in schools and colleges with regional accreditation.
Copyright DTN. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Powered By DTN