Local Legal News 
Barristers Kick Off the Holiday Season 12/27/16  12/27/16 9:49:24 AM Printer Friendly VersionPrinter Friendly Version

J. Terry Macnamara is delighted to be surrounded by some of Omaha’s finest. He is one of the Omaha Bar’s past presidents, but does not lay claim to serving as the Barristers president as so many others in attendance do. He says someone has to be available to defend them!
– Photos by Lorraine Boyd
Barristers Kick Off the Holiday Season
Like clockwork, the Omaha Barristers pulled out all the stops at their annual Christmas Party and Show on December 15 at Scoular Ballroom. Mustering their energy and courage with a cocktail party and dinner, the Barristers took the stage to roast all manner of lawyers, judges and innocent bystanders.
Some of Omaha’s most prestigious law firms were lampooned, notably in a skit about new lawyers interviewing for jobs. Barristers President and East Coast transplant Patrick McNamara delivered the traditional monologue with gusto. In a skit that may have been penned by ghostwriters at dinner, Sarpy County Public Defender Tom Strigenz was pulled from his seat in the audience onto a hot seat on the stage where he was roasted by some veteran Barristers. Santa made his annual appearance, hearing various lawyers’ requests, but granting few. And in a feminist twist, the news desk was taken over by “Kate and Jordan” (Katherine Doering and Jordan Holst), who lent suitable gravity to the task. All in all, a typical evening of silliness.

Copyright DTN. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Powered By DTN