Local Legal News 
William G. Stockdale Obit 4/14/17  04/19/17 9:46:54 AM Printer Friendly VersionPrinter Friendly Version

William G. Stockdale
July 18, 1952 – March 27, 2017
William “Bill” G. Stockdale had a successful vocation as an attorney, but he had a passion for his avocation: trapshooting. Each year, the Omaha Bar Association holds its annual Field Day, held in recent years at Champions Run. The vast majority of members choose to golf 18 holes, then regroup at the country club for dinner and prizes. A dozen or so chose to play tennis at the club.
Stockdale and a small but stalwart group chose trapshooting. They trekked way out west, shot clay pigeons, then drove in for dinner. He loved the sport so much that he coached the teams at Creighton Prep and Marian High Schools for nearly 15 years.
He served on the board of the Eastern Cornhusker Trap Shooting Conference. He even coached national championship trapshooting. He also gave his time mentoring young people through Boy Scouts of America. He modestly demurred when this paper repeatedly asked for an interview on his career and pastime. That’s just the way he was, flying under the radar.
Stockdale graduated from Creighton University College of Business and Creighton University School of Law and earned an LLM in Taxation from Denver University. He practiced law in Omaha for 39 years. 
Let’s let some of the tributes tell more about him:
“He was indeed an enthusiastic and friendly face at many trapshooting events.” – Dave and Vicky Amen
“We will certainly miss him around the lake. I am sure he is hunting and chasing big fish in the sky! Our thoughts and prayers go out to you all.” – Tuttle family
“Bill was one of the best probate lawyers to ever come into my courtroom. He knew the law, and was also totally ethical, compassionate and wonderful! I will miss him so much!” – Retired Douglas County Court Judge Jane Prochaska
Survivors include his wife, Marilyn; father, Marvin; children: Michael (Lindsey), David (Amanda), Kara, Katie, and Mark; and four grandchildren. A vigil service was held at St. John’s Catholic Church on Creighton’s campus on March 31 and a funeral mass at St. Robert Bellarmine Catholic Church on April 1.  Memorials to be directed by the family.
– By Lorraine Boyd
Copyright DTN. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Powered By DTN