Local Legal News 
Progress in DNA Research Prompts Questions 3/26/18  03/26/18 4:31:28 PM Printer Friendly VersionPrinter Friendly Version

– Photo by Lorraine Boyd
The participants in the annual joint meeting of lawyers and doctors included, from left, OBA President Ann Marie O’Brien, speakers Dr. Omar Adbul-Rahman, Jacob Dahlke, Rebecca Rae Anderson, and MOMS President Dr. Laurel Prestridge.

Progress in DNA Research Prompts Questions
The annual Medical-Legal Dinner, jointly planned by the Omaha Bar Association and the Metro Omaha Medical Society (MOMS) featured a fascinating look at “Designer Babies: The Medical, Legal and Ethical Considerations.”
Dr. Adbul-Rahman is director of Genetic Medicine, Munroe-Meyer Institute for Genetics & Rehabilitation; Anderson, J.D., M.S., is an attorney and genetics counselor at the University of Nebraska Medicine; and Dahlke is director of the Office of Healthcare Ethics at Nebraska Medicine. It was a mini course in genetic research and its many applications and introduced some interesting ethics and legal questions. The two groups have met annually for decades.
The evening’s principal sponsor was Abrahams, Kaslow & Cassman LLP.
Copyright DTN. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Powered By DTN