Feature Articles 
From Dublin to Downtown Omaha O’Siochain Brings Expertise to Fraser Stryker 9/20/18  09/20/18 1:39:11 PM Printer Friendly VersionPrinter Friendly Version

Mark O’Siochain came to Fraser Stryker from across the pond after graduating law school at just 22 years old.
Outside of the office, he serves on the Board of Directors of the Common Fund of the Heartland and is a volunteer with the First Tee of Omaha. As a keen golfer and native son of the old sod, he likes to travel and play golf in Ireland whenever he has the opportunity. (Photo by Lorraine Boyd)

From Dublin to Downtown Omaha
O’Siochain Brings Expertise to Fraser Stryker

By Andy Roberts
The Daily Record

When engaging Mark O’Siochain in conversation, it’s only a matter of moments before you know where he’s from.
It’s not Douglas County.
O’Siochain (pronounced O-SHE-uh–con) is one of Ireland’s latest exports and the Dublin native has made a home for himself in Omaha with the Fraser Stryker Law Firm.
It may come as a surprise to many that O’Siochain crossed the Atlantic Ocean to practice law, but he is hardly surprised to have chosen the legal profession for his career.
“I think what initially sparked my interest in becoming a lawyer was watching American legal dramas on TV as a kid,” he said. “These shows portrayed the practice of law as an interesting and worthwhile profession.”
But, there is more to it.
“I also really enjoyed English and History in school and I am generally argumentative in nature,” he chuckled. “So, becoming a lawyer was probably a good fit for me.”
O’Siochain is a member of Fraser Stryker’s Business and Corporate Law practice group. He advises an extensive range of clients from entrepreneurs and startups to Fortune 500 companies and international organizations.
O’Siochain earned his law degree through a four-year program in business and law at University College Dublin.
“This program is a dual degree in business and law where students attend both the business and law schools,” he said. “In Ireland there is no undergraduate degree/graduate school structure. Instead, students generally enter graduate school after finishing high school.
“So, I basically started law school when I was 18, graduated when I was 22 and then sat the New York Bar exam a few months later. After I passed the New York bar exam, I started practicing as a corporate associate at a New York law firm working in mergers and acquisitions and corporate finance,” he recalled.
That was at Cahill Gordon & Reindel LLP in New York City. His areas of expertise have grown since coming to Omaha.
“My practice has expanded since I joined Fraser Stryker to also include general business and commercial transactions, real estate, start-up formation and debt and equity financing.”
Those areas in which O’Siochain focuses should not come as a surprise. He prepared himself well.
“Having studied business and law, I chose to practice where these two disciplines interconnect, namely commercial and corporate law,” he said. “This can be a very broad and interesting spectrum of work and in my practice, I represent and advise clients in many different types of commercial and corporate matters.”
A typical day in his practice, he pointed out, can involve forming a new business, negotiating the terms of an office lease, drafting an international commercial contract, and advising on a term-sheet to sell a client’s business.
For a relatively young attorney, O’Siochain has accumulated a unique wealth of legal and life experience that he brings to his practice.
It was his wife, Molly, who precipitated his move to the middle of America after they met nine years ago in New York City.
“She is from the Midwest with roots in Omaha and we moved here in 2011,” he said.
The move from the Irish capital to Nebraska might seem like a major cultural change, but O’Siochain doesn’t find it too shocking.
“Omaha is a long way from Dublin but, in many ways, they are both very similar,” he said. “Particularly in how everyone seems to know each other and how both cities welcome visitors, be it short term or long term. People in Omaha and Dublin are always interested to learn what brought you to their city and what you think about it.”
Also, like Ireland, the emphasis Nebraskans place on work life balance and quality time with family is another similarity he values.
“I am from a large family, with four brothers, who all live in Ireland or the U.K. Despite the distance we are still very close and it is important that we stay in touch. If possible, I try to return home each year and reconnect with everyone,” O’Siochain said.
That family has grown since his move to Nebraska.
“My wife and I just welcomed twin girls, Aoife and Fiona, to our own little family a few months ago,” he said.
When not at work, O’Siochain contributes as a member of the board of directors of the Common Fund of the Heartland.
Common Fund is a non-profit organization that works to reduce homelessness and provide stable housing for those in the Omaha metropolitan area.
Yes, he likes to golf, and Ireland would be a favorite place to play when the opportunity presents itself.
However, the next few months may not be ideal for that.
“My wife and I like to travel and I like to play golf, neither of which are compatible with new born twins,” he said. “But once we think we can get the girls comfortably on a plane, we will be making a trip back with the girls and the golf clubs!”
One suspects that will be a fun trip, but until then O’Siochain will be practicing right here in Omaha where it’s easy to see that he enjoys serving his clients.
Asked about their biggest needs he said: “Real-time practical advice and solutions.”
“It is critical to my clients that I understand their business and provide practical advice and solutions so that they can move forward and execute their business plans,” he said.
Sounds like a guy you’d want to have on your side.
Copyright DTN. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Powered By DTN