The City of Omaha is the largest municipal government in the metropolitan area. Mayor Jean Stothert is the chief executive. The Omaha City Council meets weekly on Tuesday afternoons.

Douglas County contains Omaha and it the largest county by population in Nebraska. The Douglas County Board of Commissioners meets weekly on Tuesday mornings

Other Douglas County municipalities are the cities of Bennington, Ralston and Valley as well as the villages of Boys Town and Waterloo.

Sarpy County contains five cities: Bellevue, Papillion, La Vista, Gretna and Springfield.

Other counties in the Omaha-Council Bluffs metropolitan area include Cass, Saunders and Washington in Nebraska and Pottawattamie, Harrison and Mills in Iowa. The Iowa cities of Council Bluffs and Carter Lake are adjacent to Omaha.

The State of Nebraska government has three branches. Gov. Pete Ricketts is the chief executive. The Nebraska Legislature is the legislative branch. The Nebraska Supreme Court administers judicial branch.

The constitutional executive offices for Nebraska also include those of Lt. Gov. Mike Foley, Secretary of State Robert EvnenState Treasurer John Murante, Attorney General Doug Peterson and Auditor of Public Accounts Charlie Janssen.

Find a complete list of Nebraska state agencies by clicking here.

User login

Omaha Daily Record

The Daily Record
3323 Leavenworth Street
Omaha, Nebraska
United States

Tele (402) 345-1303
Fax (402) 345-2351